Fife Lake Area Solo Hike

Solo hiked a new 7-mile section of the North Country Trail yesterday, thankfully, Robert agreed to be my spotter so I didn’t have to do an ‘out-and-back’ trip.   Decided on the Fife Lake Area which is about 15 miles south of Kalkaska.  I noticed on my map that it went through a couple of campgrounds and alongside a couple of lakes, so I figured my photo opportunities would be good.

The weather was forecast to be in the high 80’s with windy conditions, so I thought that if I got an early start, I’d be done before the hottest part of the day arrived.  Hit the trailhead at 9:30 am and unfortunately, I had left my bug head net at home.  I use it so frequently while working in my yard/gardens, that I surprised myself that I had neglected to put it in my pack.  Needless to say, the biting little gnats were pretty intense, but thankfully, the mosquitoes heeded my bug spray!

100_6901-2

The trail crossed and merged with numerous ATV trails, and also the Shore-to-Shore horseback trail, so thankfully, the North Country Trail is marked very well.

100_6906-2

View of Spring Lake from the boat launch at the campground.  Very nice and quiet lake.

100_6909-2

Looking west at Headquarters Lake.  The wind had started to pick up, which felt great as the temperature was steadily rising.

100_6912-2

Something about a trail through the woods just makes me say “Aaaaaahhhh”.

100_6914-2

Came around a bend and here was this wonderful bench.  Thank you to whomever put it there.  It was nice to sit and take a break, and enjoy the views.

100_6916-2

I couldn’t believe how tall these ferns were, over three-feet tall!

100_6921-2

We’ve had some intense wind storms this spring and I have a feeling that one of them toppled this huge pine.

100_6923-2

These ‘stump-chairs’ were provided by the Grand Traverse Hiking Club.  Thank-you! They sit quite comfortably!

Met back up with Robert at 1:15 pm then drove a few miles south on US-131 to a road-side park and had a nice picnic lunch.  I was also able to clean-up a bit thanks to an old hand pump well, before the 1 and 1/2 hour trip home.

It was a great hike and I look forward to my next one.

Peace,

Sheri

This entry was posted in Nature, Photographs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

